Deriving An Imaginary City

Dérive app is part of the Dériving An Imaginary City exhibition on Art Micro Patronage curated by Andre Venell. I will be giving a short talk tomorrow about the project, its genesis, influences and future development.


2 December 2011
Johannesburg 8pm | Paris 7pm | New York 1pm | Los Angeles 10am
Watch it here


About the exhibition

Branching out from Guy Debord’s definition of “psychogeography” as “the study of the precise laws and specific effects of the geographical environment…on the emotions and behavior of individuals,” this exhibition looks at the use of digital tools in mapping the interplay between psychological states and urban environments. The participating artists are all using sophisticated technologies, from biofeedback to GPS, as a way to augment the experience of their surroundings, to record or map their passage through both physical and mental spaces.

Eduardo

Website

What is Dérive app

Dérive app gets you lost in your city and lets you share that experience with others. Build your own task cards and invite others to play with you.

During September, 30 Days of Prompts

From the start until the end of September, every 12 hours, you will be presented with a prompt which will nudge you to explore the public space around you.